Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame Announces 2017 Inductees

CRESCO, IA: Four worthy and deserving individuals will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in Cresco on Monday, April 10th. Among them is the first woman to be inducted into the IWHOF, and the sixth set of brothers to be inducted. The 48th Annual Awards Banquet and Induction Ceremony will begin with a 5:30 social hour followed by a 6:30 banquet at the Cresco Country Club south of Cresco. Those being inducted are Joel and Justin Greenlee, Mike Mann and Sandy Stevens.

Waverly natives Joel and Justin Greenlee become the 122nd and 123rd inductees into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame, joining five other families with brothers inducted. That impressive group includes Terry and Tom Brands, Jim and Joe Gibbons, Dave and Paul Martin, Don and Harold Nichols and Doug and Mark Schwab. Both Joel and Justin were state champions at Waverly, All-Americans at UNI, and successful international competitors. Joel attained fourth and second place NCAA finishes, while Justin was eighth, second, and second in his three NCAA trips. Joel is in his 20th year as the head wrestling coach at Ohio. Justin is a research veterinary pathologist for the USDA at the National Animal Disease Center in Ames, IA.

The 124th inductee into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame is Mike Mann. Mike won a state championship wrestling at Marshalltown High School in 1978. He followed that up at Iowa State University with seventh, fourth, second, and second place finishes in the NCAA tournament. He won 113 matches as a Cyclone, was a 1981 Midlands champion and a 1983 Big 8 champion. Mike is the head wrestling coach at Marshalltown High School, where he’s coached since 2012.

Sandy Stevens becomes the 125th inductee in the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame. Sandy has been behind the mic at every level of wrestling competition. She’s announced at state and national championships for Kids, Cadets, Juniors, Espoir, and many state and national high school championships. She did the NCAA D1 tournament 34 years, has been the announcer for the Midlands, Senior World Championships, Pan Am Championships, and the Olympics Games. Sandy received the Order of Merit from the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 1998, and many other accolades across the USA and the world.

Banquet tickets are available at the Cresco Chamber of Commerce (563-547-3434) and CIA Insurance in Cresco (563-547-2382). Tickets are $25 and advance registration is required.

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame’s sole purpose is the promotion of amateur wrestling in Iowa. The IWHOF has a rich history of honoring native Iowans at our annual awards banquet and induction ceremony. The inaugural banquet was held in 1970. When we conclude the 48th annual awards banquet on April 10, 2017, our roster of inductees will included 125 outstanding individuals for their contributions to amateur wrestling.

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame is located in the Cresco Welcome Center at the intersection of Highway 9 and Elm Street. The Hall of Fame is open 9-5 daily.