Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame Announces 2012 Inductees

CRESCO, IA: Four individuals with diverse backgrounds will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in Cresco Monday, April 9. The 43rd Annual Awards Banquet and Induction Ceremonies will begin with a 5:30 social hour followed by a 6:30 banquet at the Cresco Country Club south of Cresco.

Those being inducted this year are Gene Doyle from Cedar Falls, Marv Reiland from Iowa City, Mark Sindlinger from Charles City and Bob Buzzard from Salem OR.

Gene Doyle was head coach at Cedar Falls from 1985 to 2000 with his squads posting a 242-51 dual meet record. His teams won the traditional state teams titles in 1993, 1997, and 1998 while also winning the dual meet title in 1993. He coached 43 state place finishers during his tenure including 10 state champions.

Marv Reiland is most recognized for his coaching and officiating. In the 20 years at his alma mater Eagle Grove his squads went 129-62-5. His Eagles captured three state team titles, one dual meet state title, while also being a state runner-up two times. Reiland coached 71 state qualifiers, 14 state champions and 14 state runners-up. He also officiated 42 years, was named Iowa Wrestling Official of the Year and named to the IHSAA Officials Hall of Fame in 2012. He worked 19 state tournaments and 17 years in the state dual meet tournaments.

Mark Sindlinger was a three-time state heavyweight champion for Charles City. Sindlinger then went on to start for the University of Iowa football team for three years when the Hawkeyes were able to go to four straight bowl appearances. The rare two-sport Division I athlete would then join the wrestling team in January and wrestle until nationals. Despite his limited wrestling time, Sindlinger was a two-time Big Ten Champion and a two-time All American.

Bob Buzzard was a two-time state champion for legendary coach Dave Natvig at East Waterloo. Buzzard then went on to Iowa State University where he was a two time All American. He continued to wrestle and captured a national freestyle title and a national Greco Roman title before qualifying for the Olympic team in 1972. He also has been a successful coach in Oregon including a state team title this year.

Banquet tickets are available at the Cresco Chamber of Commerce (563-547-3434), Farmers Mill, Protivin (563-569-8501) and CIA Insurance in Cresco (563-547-2382). Tickets are $20 and advance registration is required.

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame is located at the Cresco Welcome Center at the intersection of Highway 9 and Elm Street. The Hall of Fame will be open until 6:00 p.m. the day of the banquet.