Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame welcomes Class of 2010 Ironside, Smith, Roethler, Chapman

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame welcomed college wrestling champions Mark Ironside and Jason Smith, high school coaching legend Bob Roethler, and wrestling writer and historian Mike Chapman as Class of 2010 honorees. The presentations were made at a banquet at the Cresco Country Club in Cresco, Iowa on April 12.

IWHOF selection committee member Dan Gable introduced the two wrestlers:

  • Mark Ironside wrestled for Gable at the University of Iowa, winning four Midlands crowns, two Big Ten titles and two NCAA Division I championships in the late 1990s.
  • Jason Smith was a teammate of Gable’s at Iowa State University in the late 1960s and early 70s, winning back-to-back NCAA titles at 167 pounds in 1969 and 1970.

Selection committee member Dave Harty introduced Bob Roethler, who put Emmetsburg High School on the wrestling map in the 1970s, winning team and individual titles at the Iowa state wrestling tournament, despite life-threatening health issues. Roethler wrestled at Loras College in Dubuque, Iowa.

Mike Chapman was introduced by selection committee Don Gooder. Chapman, a native of Waterloo, was honored for his 40 years of promoting wrestling through his numerous books, the establishment of WIN (Wrestling Insider Newsmagazine), and creating the Dan Gable International Wrestling Institute & Museum in Waterloo.

Want to stay on top of the latest news in college wrestling? If so, subscribe to College Wrestling Examiner!  You’ll be automatically notified every time a new story is posted here. To sign up for your FREE subscription, click on the “subscribe” button at the top of this page.