Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame Announces 2011 Inductees

Cresco, IA:

Three individuals with northeast Iowa ties will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in Cresco on Monday, April 11. The 42nd Annual Awards Banquet and Induction Ceremony will begin with a 5:30 social hour followed by a 6:30 banquet at the Cresco Country Club south of Cresco.

Two former Waterloo wrestlers, Mike VanArsdale and Stewart Carter, will be inducted into the hall of fame along with Arlin Severson, who was a successful wrestler and coach at New Hampton.

Mike VanArsdale won a NCAA Division 1 title for Iowa State University in 1988 , and was a two-time Olympic Alternate (1996 & 2000). He also was a 1991 World Cup Champion, a CISM (Military) World Champion and a University National Freestyle Champion. At Iowa State VanArsdale had a 108-33 record and was a three-time All American. VanArsdale wrestled at West Waterloo in high school where he was a state champion as a junior and state runner-up as a senior. VanArsdale currently lives in Chandler, AZ.

Stewart Carter was also an NCAA champion at Iowa State, winning his title at 158 pounds in 1987. Carter went 76-23-4 while wrestling all four years at Iowa State after being a “walk on” wrestler as a freshman.
Carter wrestled at Waterloo Columbus High School and was a four-time state qualifier, placing third twice and was a state runner-up as a senior. Carter currently lives in Cedar Falls.

Arlin Severson coached his New Hampton teams to four state titles. In 1990 the New Hampton team won both the state team title and the state dual meet title and they followed that up with the same titles in 1993. He coached eight state champions and 62 conference champions. Severson was a 112 pound state champion in 1957 while wrestling for New Hampton. Severson lives in New Hampton.

Banquet tickets are available at the Cresco Chamber of Commerce (563-547-3434), CIA Insurance in Cresco (563-547-2382) and Farmers Mill, Protivin (563-569-8501). Tickets are $20 and advance registration is required.

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame is located in the Cresco Welcome Center at the intersection of Highway 9 and Elm Street. The Hall of Fame will be open until 6:00 p.m. the day of the banquet.